South Africa is one of two hosts countries of the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) telescope with Australia and as such will host the core of SKA-mid, the mid frequency dishes of the SKA.

SKA South Africa, a Business Unit of the National Research Foundation, is supervising South Africa’s involvement in the SKA on behalf of the Department of Science & Technology.

South Africa has also designed and is building MeerKAT – one of three precursor telescopes to the SKA.

South Africa is involved in 7 of the 11 SKA consortia, including Assembly, Integration and Verification (AIV); Central Signal Processor (CSP); Dish (DSH); Infrastructure South Africa (InfraSA); Mid-Frequency Aperture Array (MFAA); Science and Data Processor (SDP); Signal and Data Transport (SaDT),  and Telescope Manager (TM).